God of All Comfort

If you’re reading this, you probably know that I’m scheduled to have cardiac bypass surgery on Monday, February 4.  So many dear friends have contacted me by calls, email and through Twitter that I felt it might be a good idea to share with you the comfort I’m finding in my Father’s love.

In the second letter to the Corinthians, Paul shares the comfort he has experienced: “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 1: 3-4  He continues to say that he had been under such intense persecution that he had “despaired even of life.”

As I look forward to this surgery, I’m well aware of the risk.  I’m also aware that millions of people have had the same surgery and enjoyed a much improved life afterward.  I want to assure you that though I’m not enthusiastic about the actual experience and the pain and weakness that will result in the short term, I’m not afraid for my life.

For many years I’ve believed in and preached the sovereignty of God in all things.  I’ve also preached the intimate care our heavenly Father gives to His elect children, those He has called to Himself and drawn by the loving grace of the Holy Spirit.  I feel that care and comfort now.

As to the risk, I know that in my Father’s love, I’m as safe on the surgery table in the operating room as I am in my own soft bed at home.  I’m certainly no more at risk than when I drive through any intersection in Paris, Texas!  If it is God’s plan to take me to Himself and welcome me to the place He’s prepared for me, then that is in His hands no matter where I am and no matter what the circumstances I experience.  It is so with all of His children who have come to Him through repentance and faith.

So I encourage you, my dear friends, to pray for me and for all of those who are in any trouble, but do not worry, for God has commanded us to “come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4: 16

Thank you for your concern, your prayers and your love.

In Jesus,

D.P.

Leave a Reply

